At the outer entrance to Boothbay Harbor, passing the two small islets known the Cuckolds was a dreaded experience for mariners at night and in foggy conditions. In 1874, the construction of a black tripod on the southern end of the eastern rock served only as a day-marker. After mariners filed numerous petitions, Congress appropriated $25,000 on March 3, 1891 for the construction of a fog-signal station at this dangerous site – located off Southport’s Cape Newagen. In the photograph, the trumpet seen exiting the roof warned vessels of their approach to the Cuckolds. On November 16, 1892 the building project was completed with the station consisting of the fog-signal house, an attached dwelling, fuel house, boathouse, and boat-slip.